15 May 2018: 10 am - 6 pm / 16 May 2018: 9 am - 5:30 pm

Programme of the
1st Day, 15 May 2018

09:00   Registration and Welcome Coffee
10:00 Michael Carus, nova-Institut GmbH (DE): Conference Opening & Chairman

Policy and Strategy

10:10 Dr. Kerstin Ulrich,
BASF's Biomass Balance Approach - Abstract here
Lucy Nattrass,
AkzoNobel Specialty Chemicals (NL)
New Tool Launched to Monitor Bio-Based Materials in the Chemical Industry

Feedstock for the Bio-Based Economy

10:50 Dr. Sarah Hickingbottom,
LMC International Ltd. (UK)
Market Trends, Availability and Price Development for Sugar, Starch and Plant Oils - Abstract here

Bio-Based Building Blocks

  Chairman: Dr. Wolfgang Baltus, PRECISE Corporation (Thailand)
11:10 Doris de Guzman,
Tecnon Orbi Chem (USA)
Update on Bio-Based Building Blocks
11:40 Marcel Lubben,
Reverdia (NL)
Driving the Development of the Bioeconomy - Abstract here
12:00 Christian Lenges,
DuPont Industrial BioSciences (USA)
Enzymatic Polymerization: Enzymatic Polymerization: NuvolveTM Engineered Polysaccharides & Progress in Application Development - Abstract here
12:20 Lunch Break  
13:50 Dr. Okko Ringena,
UPM Biochemicals (FI/DE)
Evolution of Wood Utilization: Bio-MEG Beyond
14:10 Dr. David Thomas,
Muconic Acid as a Versatile Bio-Based Monomer for Plastics - Abstract here
14:30 Tore Sylvester Jeppesen,
Haldor Topsoe A/S (DK)
Demonstrating and Commercializing Bio-Based Chemicals via Catalysis - Abstract here
14:50 Eelco Blum,
Avantium (NL)
Introducing Project Mekong: Making a Greener PET an Economic Reality - Abstract here

Bio-Based Polymers

  Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Müssig, Hochschule Bremen - University of Applied Sciences (DE)
15:10 Michael Carus,
nova-Institut GmbH (DE)
Update on Market Data and Forecast for Bio-Based Polymers
15:40 Coffee Break  
16:10   Bjarne Högström, PolymerFront AB (SE) New Applications for Bio-based Plastics – Examples from many Different Sectors
16:30 Dr. Lars Börger,
Neste (Suisse) (FI/CH)
New Developments of Traceable, Renewable Plastics for Bio-Based Drop-in Solutions

Innovation Award
"Bio-based Material of the Year 2018"

16:50 Award presentations  
18:00 Voting
18:15 Cold Beer on Tap in the Exhibition Space
20:00 Dinner Buffet
21:00 Innovation Award Ceremony
22:00 Live Musik
23:00 German Bowling & Bar

Programme of the
2nd Day, 16 May 2018

Yeast as Platform Technology for Bio-Based Chemicals


Chairman: Prof. Dr. Haralabos Zorbas,
Industrielle Biotechnologie Bayern (IBB Netzwerk GmbH) (DE)

09:00 Dr. John Morrissey,
University College Cork (IE)
Diversifying the Yeast Biomolecule Portfolio – from Bioethanol to Biomaterials
09:30 Dr. Anastasia Krivoruchko, Biopetrolia (SE) Specialty Chemicals through Engineered Biology

Bio-Based Polymers

  Chairman: Prof. Dr. Ludo Diels,
09:50 Dr. Anne Kutz, 
Covestro Deutschland AG (DE)
Alternative Feedstocks in the Polymer industry: Status and Perspective
Bert Clymans
Total Corbion PLA bv (NL)
75.000 Tonnes of PLA - Towards the New Plastics Economy and Beyond
10:30 Coffee Break  
11:00 Marco Jansen,
Braskem Netherlands B.V. (NL)
The Role of Drop-In Bioplastics in the Circular Economy
11:20   Jean-Luc Dubois,
Arkema (FR) 
Review of Bio-based Routes to Polyamides

Lignocellulose - Lignin & Cellulose

  Chairman: Gudbrand Rødsrud, Borregaard AS (NO)
11:40 Prof. Dr. Ludo Diels, 
Membrane Separation Technology as a Valuable and Efficient Tool in the Value Chain of Wood Chemicals and Materials - Abstract here
12:10   Holli Alexander,
Eastman Chemical Company (USA)
Innovative Cellulose Ester Engineering Thermoplastics
12:30 Lunch Break  

Dr. Hans Øvrebø,
Borregaard AS (NO)
Experience from the First Year of Running the Exilva Plant and Market Potentials for the Products - Abstract here
14:20 Jukka Kantola,
KaiCell Fibers LTd. (FI)
Forest Industry Reaching out to Textile Fibres
14:40   Dr. Ing. R.J.A. (Richard) Gosselink, Wageningen Food & Biobased Research (NL) Zero Waste Ligno-Cellulosic Biorefineries by Integrated Lignin and Humins Valorisation (ZELCOR) - Abstract here
15:00 Coffee Break  

Environmental Solutions

  Chairman: Dr. Thomas Schwarz, CLIB2021 (DE)
15:30 Prof. Dr. Jan Ravenstijn,
Jan Ravenstijn Consulting (NL)
The Virtues and Challenges of the PHA-Platform - Abstract here
16:00 Univ. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Lars M. Blank,  
RWTH Aachen University (DE)
P4SB - From Plastic Waste to Plastic Value Using Pseudomonas Putida Synthetic Biology - Abstract here
16:20 Dr. Thomas J. Farmer, 
University of York (UK)
Sustainable Solvent Selection: Tools and Techniques for Bio-Based Solvent Substitution - Abstract here
16:40 Katharina Haag,
Fraunhofer-institut f. Fertigungstechnik und Angewandte Materialforschung IFAM (DE)
Biopolymer Blend with Advanced Cost-Performance Ratio for Packaging and Agricultural Applications - Abstract here
17:00 Dr. Pilar Villanueva,
AIMPLAS, Instituto Tecnológico del Plástico (ES)
From Orange Juice Waste to New Biopolymers: A New Source for PBS
17:20 End of Conference  


Advisory Board

Dr. Wolfgang Baltus, PRECISE Corporation (Thailand)

Christiaan Bolck, Wageningen University (NL)

Prof. Dr. Ludo Diels, Flemish Institute for Technological Research (VITO) (BE)
Doris de Guzman, Tecnon OrbiChem Ltd. (USA)
Prof. Dr. Jörg Müssig, Hochschule Bremen (DE)
Prof. Jan Ravenstijn, Jan Ravenstijn Consulting (NL)
Gudbrand Rødsrud, Borregaard (NO)
Dr. Thomas Schwarz, CLIB2021 (DE)
Prof. Dr. Haralabos Zorbas, IBB Netzwerk (DE)